AGENDA

Committee CONSTITUTION COMMITTEE

Date and Time of Meeting

THURSDAY 10 JULY 2008 at 4.00PM

Venue LEADER'S CONFERENCE ROOM, COUNTY HALL,

ATLANTIC WHARF, CARDIFF

Membership Councillors Aubrey, Berman, Burley, Goodway,

Greening, Howells, Elgan Morgan, Keith Parry, Piper,

Dianne Rees, Walker and Walsh

1. Chairperson

To note that Council at its Annual Meeting on 15 May 2008 elected Councillor Berman as Chair of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2008/2009.

2. Membership and Terms of Reference

(i) Membership

County Councillors Aubrey, Berman, Burley, Goodway, Greening, Howells, Elgan Morgan, Keith Parry, Piper, Dianne Rees, Walker and Walsh.

(ii) Terms of Reference

To review the Council's Constitution, and to recommend to Council and/or the Executive any changes, except that the

Committee will have authority (subject to the Monitoring Officer's advice) to make the following changes on behalf of the Council:-

- (a) Drafting improvements to enhance clarity and remove minor anomalies.
- (b) Updating to reflect legislative changes and matters of record.
- (c) Amendments to the Financial, Contracts and Land Procedure Rules (subject to the advice of the Section 151 Officer being sought).

3. Minutes

To approve as a correct record the minutes of the meeting held on 6 July 2007 – copy attached

4. Constitution

Report of the City and County Solicitor and Monitoring Officer attached

BYRON DAVIES Chief Executive CttC/CS/JP 4 July 2008

Tel. no. 20872423 Fax no. 20872431

email: j.parry@cardiff.gov.uk